Psyonix introduces Rocket League Spring Series

The uncertain times for Rocket League community have come to an end, as Psyonix announced the launch of Rocket League Spring Series, starting in mid-April.

Following the cancellation announcement of the Rocket League Championship Series (RLCS) Season 9 World Championship due to Coronavirus outbreak, Psyonix introduces a set of regionally-based, online tournaments that will span over four weeks with one region per week. The Spring Series will feature four major RLCS regions: Europe, North America, Oceania and South America.

Ian Nowakowski, Psyonix esports community manager, wrote in the official announcement:

“When we were forced to cancel the Season 9 World Championship, we committed to online regional tournaments that would keep our competitive ecosystem humming and give professional Rocket League players meaningful and exciting ways to compete.”

Each tournament will feature a double-elimination bracket played out over two days, with eight total teams per tournament. While top four teams from each region’s Season 9 Regional Championship will automatically qualify and have preferential seeding, to fill the remaining four spots, teams will have to fight their way through Open Qualifiers held 4 days before each regional tournament. The goal is to reward the teams that would have made it to the cancelled World Championship, while maintaining the openness of competitive Rocket League.

All matches will be Bo5, except for the Loser’s and Winner’s Bracket Finals, as well as Grand Finals, which will be Bo7.

The cash reward won’t be distributed to regions evenly. Each region has its own prize pool, with Europe and North America seeing $125,000 each, while both South America and Oceania have $50,000 up for grabs.

How to watch Rocket League Spring Series

Each region will have its own weekend to play out its tournament and the whole series will be streamed the usual way – on both Rocket League’s Twitch and YouTube channels.

Rocket League Spring Series broadcast dates and time:

South America: April 18-19, show begins at 7:30 a.m. PDT (2:30 p.m. UTC) each day
North America: April 25-26, show begins at 11:30 a.m. PDT (6:30 p.m. UTC) each day
Oceania: May 2-3, show begins at 6:30 p.m. PDT (1:30 a.m. UTC) each day
Europe: May 9-10, show begins at 8:30 a.m. PDT (3:30 p.m. UTC) each day

Bet on the Rocket League Spring Series

[sportbooks games=”1864″]