The Overwatch League announces 2020 season schedule

Activision Blizzard has announced the schedule for the 2020 Overwatch League, which includes the introduction of homestand games for all participating teams.

Each team will participate in a total of 28 regular-season matches from February through to August, with two homestand weekend events. The homestand format will see Overwatch matches played in 20 cities around the world including the likes of London, Dallas, Seoul, Shanghai and Paris.

“We’re thrilled to host and compete in homestand events and perform in front of our incredible UK fanbase in the capital,” said, Dan Fiden, President of London Spitfire. “We have an awesome venue and plans in mind to ensure fans have an unforgettable experience at our events in London.”

The opening weekend will kick off on February 8th with New York Excelsior and Dallas Fuel playing hosts for the weekend. New York Excelsior will host Paris Eternal, London Spitfire, Toronto Defiant and Boston Uprising at the Hammerstein Ballroom in Manhattan. Whereas, Dallas Fuel will host Vancouver Titans, Los Angeles Valiant, Los Angeles Gladiators and San Francisco Shock at the Esports Stadium Arlington.

“Fans in North Texas really helped the esports industry pass a critical first test about the sustainability of a home-and-away format for the Overwatch League with flying colors,” said, Mike Rufail, owner and CEO of Envy Gaming, the organization that owns the Dallas Fuel. “We’re excited to be among the teams bringing this new format of play directly to our fans at every possible opportunity.”

Activision Blizzard has confirmed a mid-season All-Stars Event and a Grand Final for the conclusion of the season will take place. A location for both events is yet to be confirmed. The full schedule for the OverwatchLeague 2020 season can be found here.