The Overwatch League announces format for 2020

The Overwatch League has detailed the format for 2020 which will see matches played at home venues across the globe.

The season will begin in February and conclude in August. Teams will play 28 matches over the course of the regular season, facing in-conference opponents twice each and out-of-conference teams once each. There will also be a mid-season All-Stars event and a Grand Final at the conclusion of the season where the best teams will go head-to-head.

Due to travelling for homestand games, the Pacific and Atlantic Divisions will become the Pacific and Atlantic Conferences, and further split into four divisions: Atlantic North, Atlantic South, Pacific East, and Pacific West.

Atlantic Conference

North Division:
Boston Uprising
London Spitfire
New York Excelsior
Paris Eternal
Toronto Defiant

South Division:
Atlanta Reign
Florida Mayhem
Houston Outlaws
Philadelphia Fusion
Washington Justice

Pacific Conference

East Division:
Chengdu Hunters
Guangzhou Charge
Hangzhou Spark
Shanghai Dragons
Seoul Dynasty

West Division:
Dallas Fuel
Los Angeles Valiant
Los Angeles Gladiators
San Francisco Shock
Vancouver Titans

Photo: Robert Paul for Blizzard Entertainment


The league has confirmed there will be 52 homestand weekend events hosted at venues across the world, in countries including the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, China, South Korea and France.

Dan Fiden, President of London Spitfire, commented on bringing the Overwatch League to the UK.

“The UK has been the home to our incredibly passionate fans, and we’re looking forward to providing exciting experiences for everyone. We’re thrilled to be bringing the reigning champions home.”

Each team will host two homestands in their home venues. Additionally, teams in each division will also host three additional regular-season events in their home territories.