Overwatch by Laura Byrne March 21, 2019 428

Who are the eight teams heading to The Overwatch League playoffs

After five long weeks, the following teams are now confirmed to be heading to the playoff stage of The Overwatch League; Vancouver Titans, New York Excelsior, Philadelphia Fusion, Toronto Defiant, Atlanta Reign, San Francisco Shock, Seoul Dynasty and Boston Uprising.

The playoffs will see the eight teams compete in a seeded playoff bracket with a staggering $500,000 up for grabs. The prize pool breakdown for the event is as follows:

  • 1st –  $200,000
  • 2nd – $100,000
  • 3rd & 4th – $50,000
  • 5th -> 8th – $25,000

Heading into season two, Activision Blizzard sold an additional eight team slots, welcoming new expansion teams to the league. There was lots of speculation initially on how the new kids on the block would fare, however, three out of the eight teams going to playoffs are expansion teams, those being Atlanta Reign, Toronto Defiant and Vancouver Titans who finished stage one at the top of the standings.

While most teams final seeding was decided there were some ties to settle between Philadelphia Fusion, Toronto Defiant, San Francisco Shock and Seoul Dynasty. The Overwatch League gave the teams the choice to either battle it out or leave it to fate with a coin toss.

Toronto Defiant and Philadelphia Fusion took part in a coin flip to decide placements, with the flip going in favour of Toronto and therefore securing them the third seed and Philadelphia taking fourth. While a decider like this sounds simple enough to execute, there was a miss communication leading to Overwatch League commissioner Nate Nazer, who initially announced the wrong winner.  Nanzer addressed his error on Reddit, confirming the method would never be used again: “Sorry for messing that up I PROMISE that we will never decide anything that way ever again.”

On the other side, San Francisco Shock and Seoul Dynasty choose to go head-t0-head with a standard first-to-win three maps series. The series took place off-line, however, Overwatch provided updates on Twitter in which they named San Francisco Shock as the winners with a 3-0 result.

With all placements finalised, the bracket has been set and the playoff games will take place as follows:


Seoul Dynasty vs. New York Excelsior
Boston Uprising vs. Vancouver Titans


Atlanta Reign vs. Philadelphia Fusion
San Francisco Shock vs. Toronto Defiant

Once all matches are completed, the semifinals will take place on March 23 with the finals following on March 24. The last two stages will see the Overwatch League games air on the ABC for the first time. It is also confirmed ABC will air the Stage 2 semifinals and finals, as well as the Overwatch League All-Star Game.

  • Esports Bonuses

    122% Up To €/$122/£50

    New customers only. T&Cs apply, 18+, begambleaware.org

    €/£5 No Deposit Bonus

    New customers only. T&Cs apply, 18+, begambleaware.org

    100% Up To $50

    New customers only. T&Cs apply, 18+, begambleaware.org

  • Latest Posts

    June 18, 2019 218

    Sony & ESL partner for Gaming4Life Call of Duty Charity Tournament

    June 18, 2019 45

    Excel announces Belong Arenas as its official arena partner

    June 17, 2019 147

    Which are some of the top businesses invested in esports?

  • Latest Tips

    March 20, 2019 671

    CS:GO Snapshot: BLAST Pro Series São Paulo 2019

    February 20, 2019 865

    IEM Katowice Snapshot: Meet the Legends

    February 09, 2019 754

    Thunderdome Predictions: IEM Katowice Challenger Stage

  • Hottest Posts

    October 01, 2018 2.66K

    Earn Rewards Watching #Worlds2018

    December 07, 2018 2.15K

    GLHF.gg launching soon – bringing the best gamified streaming experience

    July 30, 2018 1.94K

    Where To Watch Esports Online

    July 08, 2018 1.85K

    KEEMSTAR to host weekly Realm Royale tournament

Sign Up For A €/£30 Risk Free Bet!

Offer Available Exclusively At SickOdds.com

By subscribing you certify that you are over the age of 18 and agree to this website's Privacy policy