Team Lithium replace Team Liquid at DreamLeague Minor

Team Liquid recently made a shocking announcement that they will not be taking part in the first Dota 2 DreamLeague Minor of the Dota Pro Circuit season. Considered to be the second-best team during the last championship, Team Liquid’s decision to drop out of the Minor definitely comes as a surprise to their fanbase. Having cited health issues as the prime reason for their withdrawal from the tournament, the specifics of this matter has not been made public. Team Liquid’s absence from the minor paves way for other teams to have a chance at qualifying for the major.

DreamLeague Season 10 is due to take place from October 29th till 4th of November 2018. 


The lucky winners this time around will receive a direct invite to the Kuala Lumpur Major which is due to commence on the 9th November this year. According to the Valve rules for the current DPC season, this ensures a connection between the Minors and the Majors. The distinction provided between the two types of events is not limited just to the prize money and the production anymore.


European Dota 2 team, Team Lithium, have been announced as the replacement for Team Liquid at the upcoming Minor. Due to health reasons causing Team Liquid to graciously back out the season, Lithium then came forward to fill the gap, having previously lost out on their spot in the qualifiers. This opportunity gives Team Lithium a fighting chance to show their worth and come back into the spotlight. 

The Team Lithium Roster is as follows:

  • Madara
  • MagE
  • Khezu
  • Maybe Next Time
  • Peksu

The current DPC season is said to only have 5 Majors and 5 Minors; a reduction in comparison to usual. This however increases the importance of each individual event with teams having a much better chance if they are able to ensure a strong performance in any Dota 2 Major during this season. In order for a team to qualify for an invite to TI9, they will have to accumulate DPC points via placements in the Dota 2 Majors and Minors. The winner of a Dota 2 Minor is automatically qualified to the next Major.


The DreamLeague Season 10 Minor attending teams are as follows:

  • Royal Never Give up (CN qualifiers winners)
  • Tigers (SEA qualifiers winners)
  • Infamous (SA qualifiers winners)
  • compLexity Gaming (NA qualifiers winners)
  • ROOONS (NA qualifiers winners)
  • Natus Vincere (CIS qualifiers winners)
  • The Final Tribe (EU qualifiers winners)
  • Team Lithium ( Team Liquid replacement)